need amp advice

MartinC

• Members

I'm out of the loop on what's out there for electric guitar amps. I've been using acoustic amps for the last 15 years. I have a 25 year old mesa boogie mark II with a 60/100 watt switch that has a lot of miles on it. It makes all kinds of buzzing noises. I loved the amp when it was in it's prime. I'm wondering if you guys think I should have it repaired, if it really can be brought back to it's prime, or if i should just buy something new, and if so, what? I'd like it to work for rock, jazz, reggae, blues. Don't expect to be playing any metal. It would be nice if it didn't weigh a ton, but the boogie is pretty heavy. Any ideas? Somewhere under 1k ............

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

How loud do you need to get, and, are you willing to consider solid state amps?

If your Boogie gets the tones you need, in the long run you'd probably be money ahead to get it fixed---it might not even be anything serious. Possibly as simple as tubes, maybe filter caps. You certainly couldn't buy an amp like that for the price of getting an existing amp overhauled, and it would probably end up as good as new, functionally. The question is whether your amp from 25 years ago works tonally for what you're playing today. Or, those things certainly are heavy; you could get a much lighter amp that will still sound pretty good if you're okay with transistors.

• Members