Anyone recorded themselves singing?? Yeeeouch!!!!

doezer

• Members

Hi folks...

ok i'll explain.

i do solo gigs on the wekends. singing + guitar + some backing tracks (but less and less backing tracks as time goes on)...

i would definitely say im a better guitarist than singer.

i often get postgig compliments on the guitar buit on the voice i would get comments ranging from "your voice was good too" down to last weekend someone saying "your voice needs tweaking though" - although i was trying out a couple of new covers which is always risky :lol:

anyways i recorded myself singing, just a webcam into the PC, nothing fancy..

and id have to admit, what i hear back is TOTALLY different from what i hear in my head. i dont mean some psychic mind trick im playing on myself, i mean my head resonances give me a sound that is very different from what i heard back. and not in a good way. im my head its sounding pretty good - pretty good pitch and nice tone, but on playback it sounds a lot more nasal!!! it doesnt sound HORRENDOUS but its worse than what i hear for sure..

anyone else experiecneing this, also, people do tend to say when they hear their voice played back it sounds horrible, so maybe its just a self critical thing kicks in - maybe folks dont hear it as bad as i do..

anyways its an intersting topic right?? this whole business of what you hear in your head isnt what the crowd here..

on the plus side, i found that repeated recordings and listen back, i am starting to tweak how i sing it and its sounding better on playback.. but theres still a ways to go! :facepalm: !!

d

• Members

Can you hear yourself through monitors or the PA when you perform? That should give you some idea of what you sound like.

I've got a little Tascam handheld digital recorder. When I'm learning a new song I'll record myself and then listen to it. Suprisingly, I usually end up sounding better on the recording than I did in my head. Maybe I just have low expectations.