Soundchecking alone...

Alpione

• Members

Hey all...

I've been playing in an acoustic duo for the past 18 months or so but am starting to do some solo stuff.

How does everyone go about soundchecking, setting levels, eq, etc by yourself? I'm used to having another person I trust to go out and listen to it. I'm about to do a country club party and don't want to ask some random guy in a black tie to tell me if the vocals are too high in the mix. ;)

Thanks.

Adam

• Members

I use a Bose system and it's pretty consistent from show to show HOWEVER... I have a few things that I've always done to make sure I get the best possible mix. (sound guys- all of this originally hinged on proper gain staging of course)

I'm sure that I've actually planned it this way, but last night during a gig my mind was wandering and I noticed something cool. Everything from my preamp on my guitar, to my loop station, to the gain on my board, to the fader on the board, are all set at exact unity gain. The only thing that is different is the main overall volume. Now of course if you looked closely you'd see that my vocal may have been perfectly set to "0" but the guitar was a little bit less. Obviously that's my "mix" right there. The nice thing about this is that it's easy to set up and slightly modify every night. It's funny because almost everything including "EQ" section of my board is almost flat as well.

On the other end of things simply turn your speaker on a stick around and sound check yourself that way. Then simply turn the speaker around. :)

• Members

What's the size and layout of the joint you're playing Adam?

Haven't seen it, but I'm told it's a patio area outside.

Yeah - I've been using the "turn the speaker around" method. Just figure there's got to be more to it than that. ;)

Adam

• Members