• Members

Hello everyone! I wasn't sure if this would be the right place, but I'm certain this forum has more than a few people that have patents. I'm new to this kind of thing, and don't really know where to go or who to ask about my idea.

I have a "million-dollar-idea" that I do not see represented in the market.

---NO--- I'm not going to say it here :facepalm:

What steps should I take to ensure that I benefit from my idea?

I also believe the larger manufacturers WILL eventually hit on my idea; but I've neither seen nor heard anything related, so time may be a factor.

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

• Members

See a Patent attorney. Yes, it is expensive. Do not share it with anyone for any reason. That event will cause a stat-bar (statutory bar). A stat-bar gives you one year to file a Patent or a provisional filing. First person to file an application will be the Patent holder if the idea merits and earns one. PTO (patent and trademark office) goes by the filing date. After it is filed, it can take several years for the Patent to issue. (Thats why easy hum buckers were called PAFs : Patent Applied For.) Good luck.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a patent attorney and this is not legal advice. I have worked with a federal patent attorney office for the last 17 years though.

• Members

Goose - Great point and I completely agree! One of my best buddies is a lawyer...and we've had discussions. I know he would go to bat for me, regardless of the price. I would replace "money" with "means" in your sentence. While I'm not a rich man, in this case I would have the means to fight for my patent(s) should it come to that.

• Members
Remember, a patent is only as good as your ability to fight for it. It provides no protection for those without the money to enforce it (unfortunate reality).

You forgot to mention time too. A corporation - being immortal - can delay things for years and years. You could well be dead before getting satisfaction in court :freak: .

• Members