Guitar Strumming, beginner

rickroads

• Members

Hi all,

Hope I am in the right forum for this question.

I am a newbie to guitar player and just beginning to strum a few songs with my acoustic guitar (rhythm guitar with a few licks I have been looking at) . I was talking to my cousin the other night and he said I should be concentrating more on looking where I am placing my fingers on the fret board and ignore looking at my strumming hand. Is this true?

Also he mentioned that my strumming should be continuous and consistent with no breaks when changing chords. I think this is true, will this come naturally while I advance in my guitar playing? Is it better to make mistakes on my chord changes and still keep a continuous strumming pattern.

Should I be looking at both what left hand and right hand are doing until I become proficient in my guitar playing? Thank you.

Rick

• Members

Time will pass and you will be changing chords fluidly and nearly unconsciously. It comes down to practice. It always does. You can get lots of online lessons but they all say the same thing. It's up to you and your desire to learn that will determine your progress. Before there was an internet and proliferation of teacher-wannabes, there were countless people who taught themselves from start to proficiency in short order.

Your playing will become fluid. You know where you're weak so focus on those areas and give it time. You'll need all the time you have left because you'll never stop learning.

• Members