Do you ever think that you are losing touch when you get better?

• Members

The other day I was listening to some fusion in the car and my girlfriend was there (who has excellent musical taste), and she didn't like it at all. I started to explain that it is changing keys all over the place, and that the guys are playing runs in 16th notes in melodic minor modes and resolving on chord tones (not in those words), and I realized that in my own journey as a musician, I have kind of lost touch with what music sounds like to non-musicians, and even what I liked about music to begin with.

This was reinforced this weekend when I went to a recital for students of my guitar teacher. Listening to these guys play classical guitar, technical rock, and jazz was boring! Much of this is that they are amateurs and are not experienced performers, but it was still an insight into why people find it funny when I tell them that I listen to jazz and classical and stuff.

I have been thinking that there is music that is made to be listened to, and music that is made to be played, and that all too often skilled musicians confuse the two. This has been very unmotivating because why practice inversions of altered chords, or soloing over charlie parker if it doesn't sound good to most people? It's like working really hard on a sculpture that will only be appreciated by other artists, and mildly disliked by non-artists. Why do it?

Do any of you guys feel that you have lost touch with the untrained listener that you once were? How do you reconcile your more "evolved" musical tastes with the knowledge that the vast majority of people would rather listen to Celine Dion?

• Members

I think some of the more technically complicated forms of music are often an acquired taste, if someone has been listening to mainstream rock/pop/whatever for most of their life, Jazz, shred etc can be hard to take in. It's not what they're conditioned to hearing.

• Members

Hey Drew,