Synth sound effects

les_rokr

• Members
What are some good synth-sounding effect pedals?

I play a lot of electronica, but I kinda wanted to spread it around to the guitar instead of just keys and synth.

:cool: I want to play in your band.

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/forums/showpost.php?p=23287625&postcount=2

http://acapella.harmony-central.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1698075

• Members

Hi les_rokr,

I got into synths for a little while over the last couple years. However, I've been playing guitar since 2000. I find it pretty interesting that many of the effects that are built into synths come in pedal form (phaser, flanger, delay, reverb, tremolo, etc.). I agree with Urinate Forever (what a lovely name) that Moog pedals are awesome. I have the Moog 12-stage phaser pedal. It is by far the warmest, thickest, nicest sounding phaser I've ever used. It can be extremely subtle to where it's unnoticeable or taken all the way to the weird robotic sounds of ring modulation.

In order to copy the slower ADSR settings on a synth, I'd have to recommend a volume pedal. That way you can slowly fade your sound in and out like a nice synth pad. If you're REALLY good, you can get by with your guitar's volume knob, but the pedal is hands-free.

Another suggestion would be to try combining pedals. While Moog pedals are VERY smooth sounding (and expensive), sometimes using cheaper or digital pedals can create synth sounds. The Boss MT-2 isn't considered that great of a pedal, but combine it with a phaser or flanger and it creates a cool "digital/synthy" sound. Also, using high rate settings on pedals can often make VERY wacky non-guitar-like sounds. Since synths can use square wave oscillators, fuzz (which is usually square wave distortion) pedals can simulate that pretty well. And don't forget some delay, too!

You have to be a bit creative when it comes to making guitar sound synth-like. Experiment, combine effects, and see what you can up with. I hope this helps! :)