ALTERNATIVE TO IPODS?????????

sdresdre

• Members

Most iPod alternatives are only 20-30gb for now. One of the older 20gb Archos Jukeboxes could be hacked (i.e. you open it up and swap the drives, it might be a little more involved but i dunno) to run up to 100gb but that requires buying the player used, then the drive, then doing some work...

Edit: not quite 80gb, but these are good.

• Members

You'll not find an 80gb player for much cheaper than an iPod, sorry. If it's for your car, consider building your own mp3 player, then you can have like 750+gb if you want... If it's for jogging/walking/etc, you might be stuck with paying the price for the hard drive size...

• Members

I've been using an iriver H140 since 2004. it pretty much beats the ipod in tearms of sound quality and features (I can use it for lossless recording if I plug a stereo mic). it's just less "fashionable". its discontinued and the newer irivers arent as great.

the battery lasts 12-14 hours, unless you install a newer one in, in which case it'll last almost 30 hours.

the i-audios are also very good

• Members

Not a lot that big. You have the Zune.............yeah, right. The Creative stuff is pretty good though. I do like my iPod 30gb video though because I use it during lunch at work to watch tv shows, etc. However, I HATE ITUNES. I'm sorry iTunes sucks.

• Members

If your gripe is with iTunes, there's plenty of alternatives out there. One cool program I found is Senuti: lets you easily copy other people's ipod's onto your computer.