"Every Door" - my first song post

• Members

http://soundclick.com/share?songid=5906738

1519942788_88d4dfbe91_m.jpg

This is my first time sharing one of my tunes on the forum.

It's still on the drawing board, so I'm open to ideas :idea:, and even trolls :evil: If anything, trolling sometimes confirms that I'm going in the right direction :poke:, depending on the troller.

It started as an acoustic singer/songwriter piece, and it transformed into a 1981 disco/rock song; so I'm always experimenting with new arrangements and versions.

There are no keyboards on the recording, and there are only 2 guitars playing simultaneously at any given moment in the song. It sounds like more because I split the signal between two FX chains and two channels - a healthy dose of EHX MicroSynth, PolyChorus, Deluxe Electric Mistress, Boss PS-3, and Boss RV-3. The Hammerhead drumtracks will probably be replaced by real drumming once I have the time to set up mics around my kit and soundcheck every track :arg:

Cheers!

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

nice guitar tracks - I definitely would have guessed there were keys if you hadn't said there weren't any. Two quick observations (opinions):

1. The vocals are to loud

2. The electronic drums fit the style pretty well. If you redo them I'd definitely try to keep some sort of electronic feel to it. Do you have a live kit or some type of v-drum kit?

Not a bad start though - good work!

• Members

nice guitar tracks - I definitely would have guessed there were keys if you hadn't said there weren't any. Two quick observations (opinions):

1. The vocals are to loud

2. The electronic drums fit the style pretty well. If you redo them I'd definitely try to keep some sort of electronic feel to it. Do you have a live kit or some type of v-drum kit?

Not a bad start though - good work!

Thanx for listening and giving me some feedback, Macdaddy!

I agree with both observations. The vocals are too loud :o Easy fix.