I'm pretty sure I'm getting a microkorg

logansc

• Members

Is this what you would go for in that price range? I've never done synth stuff before, but I'm really looking forward to it. All I need to record is a cheap midi to usb interface and some midi cables right? I'll play thru my PA when I'm at the studio, but at home playing through a bass amp is probably fine right? And thru midi jack is so you can run vst and things through the keyboard right, instead of just controlling it? I'm a complete keyboard noob. So I could be asking stupid questions.

• Members

I don't like the Microkorg keys whatsoever. Do you have a laptop or desktop computer? For the price of a Microkorg I think I would buy midi controller with a decent aftertouch keyboard and play around with software synths. That approach allows a much greater range of exploration with different kinds of synthesis. You can use demo versions, or sign up for a cheap keyboard class at a community college and get academic versions of many software synths. You could also get an inexpensive Casio or Yamaha keyboard just to mess around. I picked up a Casio WK-110 for this purpose for about $130, including stand and A/C adapter. Otherwise, I'd try to save up a few hundred more bucks to get a more capable synth like the X-50, if you don't need a vocoder, or the R3 if you do. I just got the X-50 for $560+tax, so you might be able to find one in the same range, not too much more than the Microkorg.

• Members

Is this what you would go for in that price range? I've never done synth stuff before, but I'm really looking forward to it. All I need to record is a cheap midi to usb interface and some midi cables right? I'll play thru my PA when I'm at the studio, but at home playing through a bass amp is probably fine right? And thru midi jack is so you can run vst and things through the keyboard right, instead of just controlling it? I'm a complete keyboard noob. So I could be asking stupid questions.