Your Top 5 ESSENTIAL (Affordable) Pedals...

rebelzed

• Members

So I'm a relative noob to pedals and am looking to invest in a few soon. There's a bazillion pedals out there, so I figured I'd try to get a little direction before I went blindly testing things out. I'd like to stay on the lower end of the price spectrum, preferably $150 or less each. I'd like an overdrive (blues), distortion, fuzz, maybe a wah/envelope filter, and maybe one or two more.

That being said, what would your Top 5 pedals be according to those criteria (loosely)? Help a noob out :poke::thu:

• Members

Aww, man! That's awesome. i can't wait.

What pickups do you have in there, mate?

a wilkinson in the bridge and a bridge pickup out of a 'vintage' (brand) SG in the neck wired out of phase with both pickups on. :lol:

• Members

Agreed.

And more Monsterpiece, which is my essential affordable fuzz of choice.

Melx, that vid sounded fantastic
:thu:

thanks :thu: cheap pickups, cheap guitar, cheap amp, cheap fuzz pedal recorded on a cheap samsung stills camera ... it works for me. :lol:

anyway, I can't really pick just five

but look at EHX, MXR, DOD, BOSS, danelectro, Ibanez ... lots of good affordable pedals there.

also Mellowtone and some of the other stuff at fuzzhugger is well priced.

oh, and 'madebymike' too.

• Members

Hardwire covers most of the traditional essentials quite nicely for me. All the EHX & other stuff is for psychedelic expeditions/noise lab/sci fi/ghost drone/effectology/etc. I'll definitely second the Magicstomp recommendation, as that will surely turn you on to certain effect types you might not have otherwise considered.

• Members