help me i suck / i cant play metallica

bluesboy

• Members

so, im a self taught player, started in 2000 or so. i started off (trying) to play metal, and then i moved into more of a classic rock blues mode. I practice a little bit here and there when i can... usually for about an hour before i go to bed. and rather than rehashing all the crap i already know, i've been trying to learn new (new as in i dont previously know how to play it) and more challenging stuff. now i can hack out something that sounds close, and would be sort of passable, but that's not what im trying to do. im trying to play it right, and play it well, for rhtyhm and lead stuff.

so i bought some tab books.....

ride the lightning, master of puppets, and lynyrd skynyrd's greatest hits.

let me just talk about the metallica songs.... the rhythm stuff is very fast for me to play cleanly, and the solos? i cant even come close... i can play bits and pieces.

for instance, in sanitarium, i can play the first solo, and my timing is pretty good/i can hit all the notes pretty well. the second solo, which i really want to play, ties my fingers up (maybe it's the harmony? i dunno...

it cant be a matter of just practicing and practicing... because ive been trying. maybe my technique is bad, or maybe i just suck.

any help :cry:

• Members

take it slower. maybe you're rushing into metallica too fast

Yeah, the best way I have found to get something down is to break it up into small sections and pratice one section at a time.

I will start off playing a section very slowly, maybe half speed, and work my way up in speed until I've got it down and am playing that section by feel/reflex and not by thinking about every note.

I'll then do another section like that and when I'm comfortable with it I will combine the 2 together and move on to learning a 3rd section. Then combine that in etc..... until I have learned the whole solo or rhythm of a song.

• Members