Master volume....only drives the poweramp??

mda96bjh

• Members

Hi all

N00b question but..............

On my H&K Triamp MKII I have a master volume & a seperate volume for each of the 3 amps it has...

Does the master volume drive the poweramp & the others, the pre-amp??

I am thinking of buying a marshall powerbreak to crank the amp whilst not deafening the missus....would this be worth it??

thanks

• Members

master volumes are the last barrier between your preamp and your poweramp. They let the preamp current through to drive the poweramp. Without preamp current, the mastervolume does nothin.

Preamp volumes let the current out of the specific channel.

so yes, a powerbreak would function great in this situation.

• Members

so which volume should i use to get the best distorted tones??

This is getting a bit technical for me so Ill keep it simple, the best distortion comes from power amp break up, but in order for this to happen, the volume has to be way up in the power section. This is how guys who play plexis etc get their tone, by turning the volume way up. That is why people say you have to turn tube amps up to get a good sound out of them. That being said, a lot of modern amps with master volumes have pre-amp distortion. Each volume knob that you have for each independent channel drives the pre amp tubes for distortion. However, in order to get those sounds out of the pre-amp, you still have to send it through the power amp. The power amp amplifies the signal coming from the pre amp to create your sound. If the power amp is also not driven, then your pre amp tones are pretty much worthless and sound mucky. Im no amp tech, but this is my basic understanding.

Anyone correct me if I am wrong.

• Members

the best distortion comes from power amp break up

It actually depends. Some people prefer preamp distortion to power amp distortion. It kinda depends on what your looking for, but yes they both sound and respond differently.

• Members