Songwriting - Structurally Speaking

Johnny_1Nut

• Members

How do you all approach the process? I don't have a problem coming up with catchy things, I think anyways...I'll post some stuff up sometime...

Anyhow, where I start shooting myself in the foot is trying to give it structure. That's where things start to fall apart. I'll get a good verse/chorus started, and try putting it to music, which is harder for me than writing some cool music and trying to get lyrics to fit. In some cases.

I'm really new at this and was just wondering what some of you all do to 'meld' the 2 together and let them gel. :blah:

TGIF! :thu:

• Members

Most songs will typically fall into the verse-chorus structure (which seems like the default model these days for many, many songwriters), but I prefer 32-bar song form, or AABA (which was the default model for many, many songwriters in the Great American Songbook days). There is also AAA, which I haven't used much ... but it's a great alternative when you can't come up with a B section in AABA. ;)

I used to try to shoehorn all my songs into the verse-chorus model and ended up ruining them or just running the lyric aground. Now I've got a couple of different forms to mix and match and alter when needed.

Both have their uses and it really depends on the lyric and how the melody moves through that lyric.

• Members

I go where the song leads.

I know that's not a helpful answer, especially, but it's truly how I approach it.

But traditional pop structures are deeply ingrained in the way my brain works, musically. It wasn't always that way -- when I first started writing songs, they'd start in one spot (and key) and meander around through all kinds of words and music and not-necessarily repeating chord changes and end up way off somewhere else. That's not necessarily a bad thing but it doesn't always make for the best integrated, coherent and easily aborbable work.

• Moderators