Writing "parts..."

rockinrobby

• Members

I'm a song writer, as are you.

And we write songs, on our instrument of choice. Mine is a guitar. I write songs, and I've written some pretty damn good ones. It always starts with me and the guitar? And you get a nice idea, you get chords, you get a melody, you get words, and there you have it... You birthed "a song."

However, when you actually in the fullness of time "record that song." You aren't just playing the guitar and singing? There's keys in there? There's a bass? There's harmonies? This goes back to production which I've posted on before, but I believe it's actually part of the writing process?

I've been working "all week" writing a piano part for my new tune, "hold on." The song's written? It's been written for some time (months). But as a multi-instrumentalist? Like some of you... I enjoy the process of writing "each part." And I believe that each part, in the end production is written. The bass line contributes as much to the song as the guitar? The harmonies can make a song. The strings compliment the performance, like butter sauce on a fine seafood meal... It's all got to come together, every part supporting every other?

A good song is in fact "a symphony..." and the writer of the symphony does not ignore the violas? A good writer loooooves the Violas... A good writer looooves the clarinets? A good writer "hears the symphony" And the symphony is not you playing your tune on a guitar and singing it. A good writer hears the finished product... (IMO). You have to take it from spark, to conception, to justation, to "full term", and ram that thing out your musical vag... I believe in "writing parts..." And I believe the some of the parts are very very very important. A song is really just a bunch of parts.

• Members