Ever notice some tube amps of the exact same make/model sound different?

S540

• Members

why is this? I have even been told sometimes they change from different times of use

I once played a mesa single rec and thought the eq was sadly ineffective, and then played a different one and it was a whole different creature.

• Members

why is this? I have even been told sometimes they change from different times of use

I once played a mesa single rec and thought the eq was sadly ineffective, and then played a different one and it was a whole different creature.

I know what you mean. I just bought a Single rec and it sounded good boosted for the first three weeks and sometimes as I played it would sound not as good then go back to sounding good a few minutes later- but it didn't sound great. This past week the amp started sounding way better -more growl and just noticeably meaner (I am not good at describing sound). Night and day difference.

I played the amp earlier this evening and it sounded fantastic and after 30 minutes it started to sound different- a little more gainy and brighter with a bit of fizz (like the treb was up too high). I believe it has a bad preamp tube in it or one that is going bad- I hope that's what it is anyways.

As far as power tubes in a single rec-A guy with a single rect told me he would go to the Hollywood store with his amp and they would let him try different sets of power tubes until they found the ones that sounded best. Being a cathode bias- this makes sense.

• Members

It is the tubes, the electric current flucuations coming from the wall socket, and the plus/minus tolerance factor of the parts used in the amp. This is why each amp may sound slightly different of the same model. Marshalls are a good example of this.

I'm not referring to slightly different construction parts on the boards in the amp, but the exact same amps built at approximately the same time.