HCAF IT professionals... what certifications should I be shooting for?

Sheik_Yerbouti

• Members

I've got a good bit of experience working on print servers (Sun Solaris, Imation, Creo, etc.), and I have over 15 years of professional technician experience, so I'm not a total n00b, but having just been laid off for the second time in four years (thanks ever so much, {censored} economy!), I need to get out of the tech business and into a (somewhat) more stable field that's actually got a real future to it.

What are the most in-demand and trending upward aspects of the IT field and which certifications should I study for, both for the short term (something to get me in the door) and the long term (where the money and the future lies) that stand the best chance of being a strong jump-start to get me going?

Thanks in advance, to anyone who can help!

• Members

To be honest, its a {censored} business at the moment. I know I am trying to get back into it.

If you want networking, and as most printers are networked now you can always try for a Cisco CCNA I need to get re-certified in this myself. You can also look at an online degree course or speak to a few universities that run courses and see what they advise.

Also knowledge helps a lot, for my job I know this lot

• Members

Linux/Unix certs, MCSE's and CCNA/CCNP's help a lot. I found though they're somewhat futile because they expire far too quickly for my taste, which is why I start classes for my masters next month. But those certs I listed are certainly a good place to start.

• Members

Definitely get in on any cloud related stuff if you can... that's the future mang. VMware, Amazon s3 (not sure if they have a cert), EMC, Rackspace CloudU, etc.

That's assuming you want to stay on the technical side and not get into something else.

• Members

Hey Neil,