Getting a THD Hot Plate today :)

guitarbilly74

• Members

Doing a trade with Mark (samhill) for my DelayLab. I have a Weber attenuator but it's been acting up lately, so this should be cool. I wil mainly use to shave off a few dBs when playing live and to use it as a load box to record my amp with IRs. Does anyone have any experience with them?

I am also buying a MXR Micro Amp from him, it will be cool to have a clean boost smile.gif

• Members

Quote Originally Posted by guitarbilly74

View Post

well that's encouraging icon_lol.gif

I'll throw an encouraging note into the thread. I have been using various versions of the THD hotplate for 15 years - the same way you described - and they sound fine. You'll probably tweak the amp EQ to compensate a bit but I have been pleased with their performance for low level attenuation. Once you get past that 12 db detent though...blanket city just like sleewell said.

• Members

THD works & sounds just fine, from my personal experience with them. I noticed no tone suck or blanket-type effect with mine at moderate attenuation levels (-4 or -8db). Heck, when I had mine I even liked the full attentuation - the sound and feel of a tube amp at bedroom levels vs a modeler - I'd take the attenuated amp all day (yes, I know it's not the same, but hey, it's a tube amp!). I do regret getting rid of mine.

I'd be interested to hear what comparisons you hear between the Weber and the THD. I've always been tempted by the Weber. Which model do you have?

• Members

Quote Originally Posted by fridgit

View Post

THD works & sounds just fine, from my personal experience with them. I noticed no tone suck or blanket-type effect with mine at moderate attenuation levels (-4 or -8db). Heck, when I had mine I even liked the full attentuation - the sound and feel of a tube amp at bedroom levels vs a modeler - I'd take the attenuated amp all day (yes, I know it's not the same, but hey, it's a tube amp!). I do regret getting rid of mine.