What do you do when your fingers hurt?

Misha

• Members

What do you do when your fingers hurt???

I bought my Norman B20 Folk a few weeks ago and I play one or two hours everyday, at least. My fingers started to hurt 3 or 4 days ago! :(

I still want to play but it's difficult. What do I do:

1. Put miraculous therapy lotion or something?

2. Stop playing even if I want to play?

3. Buy an electric?

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Should be ok if you keep going the way you are. DON'T put lotion on.

It will be painful for a while, but the pain will go away after you build some calouses. Should start getting better in about a week mabey two.

I started playing when I was a little kid so I don't remember exactly how long it took for the calouses to build.

Don't give up! It's worth it!

• Members

Misha, I started playing seriously about 3 months ago, same as you, about 1 to 3 hours a day. My fingers hurt pretty bad for a few weeks. Take a day off every 5 or 6 days, it helps. Otherwise keep playing, the pain stops after a while (unless I am learning new chords, then my fingers always hurt because I grip the strings way to hard when I am learning new stuff).

• Members

Jasmine tea wrote:

DON'T put lotion on.

Not good for calouses I guess?

But then I have another question: what do i do to reduce the noise that my fingers do when I move my hand on the neck?

Is it only my technique or do you have a trick or two?

FRENCH-ENGLISH/ENGLISH-FRENCH DICTIONARY

Thanks for the link! I have one at home + the Oxford advanced learner's Dictionary. Both are very useful! ;)

• Members

Don't worry about the squeek. Just let it happen. You'll squeek less with practice.

Squeek happens because the fingers are not releasing completely before moving to another chord.

Some may recomend "string lube". I don't think it's a good idea. At least not for a beginner. Lotion, string lube, anything like that will not be good for the calouses.

• Members