OT: Falling out of love with playing

kwakatak

• Members

I may just be sick of my guitars but I'm too overdrawn financially right now to do anything about it.

I'm not about to start eating dog food over it, but a mortgage, car payments and high XMAS credit card bills will do that to you. :(

Anyway, I've been playing for over 25 years and I've had a lot of guitars come and go. During that time I haven't have the best of acoustic guitars and have spent too much on the electric side of the fence. These past couple of years I've discovered that acoustic guitars CAN play as easily as my electrics. Maybe it's my ego but I started to believe that my guitars were holding me back.

I felt this way several times in the past and it's usually followed by me falling out of love with playing guitar. I have gone through some real long dry spells where I didn't pick up a guitar much. The last one lasted about 5 years and I feel as if I'm headed toward another dry spell.

What brought me out of it last time wasn't GAS, but getting a good setup on my old entry-level acoustic and discovering fingerstyle. This time I think it's gonna take a bit more - like finally easign that GAS and throwing myself into playing for more that my own personal enjoyment. I'm actually thinking of approaching my church's musical director and requesting to sit in with the P&W band - and I'm more of a wretch than a Bible-thumper.

Has anyone else every felt this way? Someone talk me out of packing away my gear for another dry spell. :cry:

• Members

i don't think anybody can talk you out of it... but its normal man... it comes and goes, i think it hits everybody every once in a while... you don't have to be learning something or accomplishing anything... play it just to play it... if its not fun then don't do it til it is...

• Members