Is there an ideal spot to strum?

SRQPhil

• Members

I know this may seem like a dumb question. But I'm fairly new to acoustic guitars. When I recently got my Larrivee L-03, I've noticed how the sound can vary considerably depending where I strum. The closer I get to the bridge, the higher and brighter it gets to a point.

Got me wondering whether there is a sort of sweet spot in an acoustic, that ideal spot to strum. Obviously the way the pick guards are placed, it would appear to be just past the sound hole.

I guess it just comes down to personal preference and what type of sound you are looking for.

• Members

I don't know, I kind like strumming on the couch or on the back patio. ;)

Greymuzzle is right, each guitar has it's own sweet spot. That said, that sweet spot is not always right for any given song. Sometimes you want that crispness near the bridge.

• Members

Sure it matters. I play around all the time.

On one part of a song I play (Country Roads) I do one strum, close to the bridge, at each measure. The rest are a alternating bass pick with a up/down strum. Play around with it and see what you hear...

See what you hear?

• Members

Depends on what you want to hear.

Django Reinhardt is a guy who was a real master (IMO) at picking in different spots for dynamics -- play softer, closer to the end of the fingerboard, then play hard closer to the bridge.

Experiment; it'll do you good. :thu:

• Members

Strumming location is one of the fastest ways to change the tone you're getting out of your instrument. Terry Allan Hall once said something to the effect of strumming location replacing the use of a tone knob on an electric guitar.