Getting my first acoustic guitar, suggestions?

mparsons

• Members

Hey everyone,

I've been playing electric for around 6 years now, and I've finally decided that its time to get an acoustic. I've been doing a pretty good bit of research so far, but I'm still not really sure what exactly I want.

The guitar will solely be for recording with a microphone, and I'd prefer not to have a cutaway or any electronics built in (no compromise on tone+saving on 'features' I don't want=win). I do want to do fingerstyle a bit more than strumming/picking, but I will want to do both (otherwise I'd get a nylon and call it a day!)

From what I've read so far, an auditorium style guitar is more what I want than a dreadnought or jumbo size. I tend to prefer a brighter sound to a darker sound with acoustics. And I'd also like to spend around or under $500. Used would be great but I don't want to buy used on eBay or online.

Of the research I've done, these appear to fit what I want:

Recording King RO-27: http://www.recordingking.com/guitars_ro27.html

Price: $525 (does not include case?)

Pros: All solid wood, no pickguard, 1 3/4" width

Cons: Rosewood fretboard, doesn't include case, made in China

Yamaha LS6: http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/ContentDetail/ModelSeriesDetail.html?CNTID=5050011&CTID=5065100

Price: $500, includes case

Pros: Ebony fretboard, all solid wood(?), made in Japan(?), 1 3/4" width

Cons: Pickguard

Alvarez PF411: http://www.alvarezgtr.com/prod_page.php?SeriesID=3&ItemID=254

Price: $369 on clearance

Pros: Price! Solid top and back. I've played many Alvarez guitars and liked what I've played.

Cons: Unknown nut width.

Any suggestions/ideas/opinions on these? Or others in a similar range?

Thanks!

• Members

Find one you REALLY like (i.e., that Yamaha) and take the 20% off from Guitar Center I posted a few posts down and snag yourself a great deal. That LS6 is an outstanding guitar.

-Matt