Have you all ever used a Gmajor 7b 3rd chord,or any like them?

KATMAN

• Members

I'm sure they have their uses,but I never have. I took and old guitar chord book,Mel Bay's Encyclopedia of Guitar Chords and came across this one and others like it.I've been learning new ways of playing recently,I've started to learn how to use augmented and diminished chords.It's pretty cool and after playing for 30 years it's funny how you never stop learning.I used 6ths,and minor 6th's on occasion before,but when they start talking 11th's and 13th chords,I'm totally lost.Being self taught,I've always stuck with the basic chords and barre chords.Anybody ever use these chords? What's the most freguent unusual chords do you use ?

• Members

Yes I play alot of extension chords, or 4 note chords. Adds color. #5`s (aug), Min7b5 (half diminished) minor 9ths, 11`s, Maj9, etc..

When I`m learning a tune I go through the chart (real book or something) and I stop and look up the chords I`m not familiar with. That way I learn them in a context and not just a random chord..

• Members

No really sure about that spelling... A G major has a major 3rd, pretty obviously. A G7 has a major third and a flatted 7.

My typical first reach chord reference is Eddie Sullivan's www.Chorderator.com (I also really like his 'chord designer' which is actually a sort of chord 'reverse lookup' -- mark the notes played on a guitar neck graphic and his web app analyzes the chord and displays all the derived spellings.)

• Members
No really sure about that spelling... A G major has a major 3rd, pretty obviously. A G7 has a major third and a flatted 7.

Gmajor7b 3rd is probably a really awkward way of saying G7#9. Online chord generators can spit this stuff out. ;)

Yes, I use these kinds of chords all the time.

• Members

Ah, I get it. So, would you typically then play it with a major third low in the inversion and the sharp 2nd an octave above?