Getting Soft, Buzzy Strings out of Reason 3

• Members

Dear Anyone.

I'm a wannabe New Age composer - think piano, flute, strings, SOFT sounds, cringe now, you rockers, and get it over with!

How do you, technically, get soft, buzzy strings? Like Richard Clayderman, or Kitaro when he's using synths and not a real orchestra, or the background, droney soft strings you hear on film soundtracks? The Reason strings all sound harsh and acidic and I was wondering if anyone knew what to do to soften them up.

Please, I'm new to all this so if you have the time to detail the steps, or if there's a tutorial anywheres point me in that direction? Can do nice, bright flutes and pianos, but soft'n'buzzy seems much more difficult!!

Yours hopefully

Christopher Burke (ulrichburke on site).

Christopher, I'm glad you asked here too, because although I got your email, I'm not a regular Reason user, and am not very familiar with the string sounds in it. Hopefully some Reason users will reply...

IMO, you should probably start with a basic sample / patch / sound that is as close to the end result you're looking for as you can get. There's a ton of different string sounds out there, and a ton of ways of generating them (different brands / models of not only hardware synths and samplers, but tons of string sample libraries, synthetic / synth strings, layering two or more of these, etc.), and because it's hard to know the exact sound you're hearing in your head or looking for, it's hard to know where to even begin as far as suggestions... and again, I'm not familiar with the string sounds in Reason, so I have no idea if any are even close to what you're looking for...

If they're not, you may need another source - a new synth, some new samples, etc.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help right off the bat. :(:o