Duncan vs. DiMarzio

heem6

• Members

Okay, the other day someone was telling me that he's tested the Duncan Distortion and the DiMarzio Super Distortion side by side, and the DiMarzio blows the Duncan away. Also that the new Seymours are not nearly as well produced as the ones from years ago.

I've never owned a DiMarzio, but I'm thinking about giving it a shot. What does everyone here think of the two pickups? I'm putting it in a custom-built George Lynch Bengal Tiger, so the Seymour would be more authentic, but if the DiMarzio sounds better....

Discuss amongst yourselfs....

snl101.myers.richman.010704.jpg

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I'm no pro, so quit putting all this pressure on me. :freak::cry:

But I'm going to say IMHO, I've had better luck with DiMarzios than Duncans.

I find DiMarzios to be more lively.

I've tried Ducan

PG II

PG V

Classic Stack

Custom Custom

DiMarzio

PAF Pro

Fred

Air Norton

Tone Zone

Virual PAF

VirtuAL 2 neck

I do have a set of Duncan Seth Lovers that I will be installing in my LP. I expect to be pleased with those.

• Members

. . . wow, flame-free so far, way to go guys, lests keep it that way !

So, my 2 cents !

* Only Duncan's get imported to South Africa.

NO ONE bring in DiMarzio'z (at all) - does that sat anything about the popularity of DiMarzio's ?

* I always thought (i might be off target) that more of the big names in popular music (regardless of the genre) use Duncans. (?)

Yes, DiMarzio has Vai & Satriani on their side, but any other multi-million album *sellers ?

( *not talking about 'new metal' bands that only today's teenagers can appreciate . . . but groups/artists that have gained RESPECT from all age groups, 15 to 99)

;)

• Members

I have both Duncans and Dimarzios (along with Bill Lawrence, EMG, Fender, and Epi Elitist) in my guitars and like them both.