How to get business for a project studio???

• Members

I'm a college student running a home built studio and charging by the hour, but i'm not getting enough business lately just by word of mouth. I really don't want to pick up a part time job haha.

Two years ago I was getting lot of business off of myspace. Myspace of course died shortly after that. I've tried facebook, but nobody seems to pay any attention to business and music pages on facebook. I've put cheap flyers up at all the music stores, record stores, venues, local colleges, etc and gotten a few hits that way. But it isn't enough. I think a big problem is convincing people who don't know me or anybody that's used me to believe that I can actually get a professional level of sound quality with my budget studio run out of a storage building on a farm haha. Also most people don't know that my rig is mobile and I record concerts and theatre performances too.

So i'm thinking getting a simple but professional looking website might help, maybe one of those $5 a month godaddy sites, or maybe shell out a little cash on nicer flyers or business cards. But besides that I can't think of anything else to do.

Suggestions???

• Members

Well I mostly get local acts and all of them seem to come up short on sounding good in at least an area or two. Some have great sounding music, but the singer is mediocre, some the opposite. A lot of them rush through as fast as possible to save money and just give me trash to work with, so even with a lot mixing work the recordings come out sounding pretty bad. I've got some of my own recordings that I think are pretty good for what they are, but it's indie and really strange stuff and not all that comparable to normal commercial music. I've never really recorded an act that puts out a professional enough caliber of sound to really push me to my limits, but instead i'm usually trying to remedy mediocrity.