Micing a Uke?

• Members

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to this recording thing, I got a presonus firestudio to record my friend and i's acoustic duo. he plays uke, but I'm not sure what microphone I should use on it. I want it to sound great, but not break the bank. Thanks for your help!

I'd try a ribbon (for a darker sound) or large diaphragm condenser (for a brighter one). I'd start with the positioning about a foot or so from the instrument, and I'd have the mic placed directly in front of the neck / body joint... and then I'd rotate the mic so it was aimed more at the soundhole (for a bassier sound) or more at the neck / body joint (for a brighter sound). Adjust to taste.

As far as what mic to use, that depends on your budget, the size of the Ukulele, and your general sonic preferences. :)

• Members

I agree with Phil's starting point, adding (sorry if this is too pedantic) only that you can also move the mic farther/closer in addition to what he's described depending on what you want the track to do. If it's the main instrument, you might want to keep it closer, for instance, or to help it blend, you might want to take it out farther.

• Members

I'd try a ribbon (for a darker sound) or large diaphragm condenser (for a brighter one). I'd start with the positioning about a foot or so from the instrument, and I'd have the mic placed directly in front of the neck / body joint... and then I'd rotate the mic so it was aimed more at the soundhole (for a bassier sound) or more at the neck / body joint (for a brighter sound). Adjust to taste.

As far as what mic to use, that depends on your budget, the size of the Ukulele, and your general sonic preferences.
:)

Thanks Phil, I was researching online about acoustic guitars, and it seems like the Cascade Fat Head is a good mic for acoustic instruments, so I suppose I could use it here as well.

• Members