Advice on second guitar please

ILikeGuitar

• Members

Hi I've been playing guitar for around 8 months now after deciding to try learning again. I guess I'm sort of transitioning from beginner to intermediate player now. I started using a Squier Affinity Strat and Squier amp (from that value pack), which I've had for 5-6 years. Right now I think the amp and guitar are dying on me because theres a ridiculous amount of ugly noise coming from them. Also the guitar can't seem to hit notes correctly, and sounds bad in terms of intonation. I'm looking for a second guitar that will suit me well and will cost around $200-350. I was looking at getting a standard Fender Stratocaster, Epiphone Les Paul or Epiphone SG of some type. Do you guys have any recommendations on model?

• Members

I'd recommend you take your current guitar to a good tech and have him/her do a good setup on it. That and a new set of string should take care of your intonation issues.

As for the amp and the guitar dying on you, have you tried using a new cable? If not the cable then it's not unusual for a guitar's selector switch to go bad and cause problems similar to what you've described.

• Members

I recommend you get a Fender Standard "FAT" Strat...it gives you best of both worlds to explore. I paid like $350 for mine and gig with it (and I own more expensive gear).