Stripping a finish

Knottyhed

• Members

Poly I would assume... it is a Maverick Bass guitar.

A heatgun... would a blow torch do the same job?

A blow torch would do the same job, but it's more focused heat - you have to be reeeally careful or you will burn the wood. I blowtorched an old Explorer body once and made a mess of it.

• Members

yea i tried using cheical on poly and did just about nothing. Now i have no experience(sp) witht the heat gun but unless that takes three months you should be ok. Your could also try sanding thats what I ended up doing.

i stripped a poly body with a heat gun in less than an hour.

• Members

Heat gun for poly seems to be the best way - most chemical strippers just shrug their shoulders while poly laughs at their ineffectiveness.

One word of caution - be sure to wear some kind of eye protection, and gloves aren't a bad idea. The poly can pop off when heated up, and a hot chunk of softened plasticy goo hitting your skin/eye/whatever isn't a pleasant thing.

• Members

Question, as one of my dreams is to have a natural Fender '72 Telecaster Deluxe AND I'd like to take the poly off the neck as well and replace everything with tinted lacquer...

1. I'm looking on Amazon for heat guns and some of them have multiple temperature settings. What temperature is the best?

2. Even after the heat gun, will there be some poly residue left over that should be sanded off before I put a clear lacquer coat on it?

3. Will the heat gun take the clear poly finish of a maple neck and fretboard? Will I need to be very careful about the heat thinning the glue that applied the frets?

269498.jpg

• Members

Question, as one of my dreams is to have a natural Fender '72 Telecaster Deluxe AND I'd like to take the poly off the neck as well and replace everything with tinted lacquer...

1. I'm looking on Amazon for heat guns and some of them have multiple temperature settings. What temperature is the best?