Trust, Ebay, Local store

Alanfc

• Members

OK - if you have low tech knowledge on a guitar line, for example Gibson Les Paul Standard/Classic/Studio/Custom. And you're on the hunt, ready to buy.

Who do you trust more : a local store guy? Or the 99-100% Positive feedback Ebayer ?

I'm starting to question my old belief in "only hands-on" as I shop for a Les Paul. A local shop may give me more service if there's a problem, thats true. But, could I ever get such an accounting of the guy's sales record and good/bad record like I could with an Ebay seller?

Aside from shipping tragedies, wouldn't I put more faith in the Ebayer with hundreds of transactions and feedback to show for it?

I'm not making an argument for one or the other necessarily. This is just as it relates to Me. No LesPaul tech knowledge- not knowing whats right or wrong with a guitar even though it plays well, what flaws warrant how much cut off the price, etc... My day job is actually all haggling and evaulation, but with things I KNOW up&down. The store experience itself isn't the question. As I acquire a few LP's over the years and get to know them, I will relish the store experience. But now, not even close.

Let alone the larger selection on Ebay vs. =whatever's on the wall= at the local shop.

Sounds like I got my mind made up doesn't it. But I don't. Or do I.

Please opinionate for me

thanks

• Members

The amount of BS in ebay feedback is pretty high and problems do appear well after the feedback period. Lots of ebay guitar deals as opposed to buying online or mailorder from an authorised dealer are for used guitars and have no manufacturers' warranty.

• Members

I've bought around five guitars from E-bay, now; I'm not sure if it is my continuous stupidity when it comes to spending large amounts of money, but each guitar was a disappointment.