Refretting

nuke_diver

• Members

It looks like my MIM strat probably needs to be refretted as the grooves are getting quite deep in several places and the frets were not mediums to beging with. I'm thinking about doing this myself since it looks like refretting goes for 200-300 (and probably on the high side around here) and that's alot to play for a $340 guitar even though I like it. I checked Stew-Mac and a refret tool kit is about ~$170 and wire seems cheap

My question is, what else would I need? Do I need a good size work bench with a bench vice? What isn't in the took kit that I might need.

What would it take a first timer to do this...1 hr/1 day/1week/1 month?

On the website I saw many different wire sizes. What is the wire size that equates to medium-jumbo frets?

Anything else that might be worth know would be great. I don't have a problem working with my hands but I have never done anything like this before and am more on the brute force end of things. The refretting would be on a finished maple neck

• Members

The hardest part will be getting your old frets out without splintering your fretboard. I've never done maple.... it's going to be tough to do without mucking up your finish. Fortunately maple doesn't splinter as easily as rosewood. Save any chips and reglue them in with superglue. Be sure to tape everything off real well.

I use simple tools that you can get from any hardware store... side nippers, plastic hammer, flat file, little hobby files for fret dressing, fine sandpaper, straigtedge. the only specialty tool was a crowing file that Stew-mac sells for about $30 I think.

Good luck!

• Members

The kit that I saw was this

http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Tools/Special_tools_for:_Fretting/Essential_Fretting_Tool_Kit.html

I have a 24" level so that would surfice as a straightend