GAS for a Telecaster

TCEDDIA

• Members

I'm primarily a bassist who has recently become very interested in home studio recording. I would like to add a Fender Tele to my gear but I'm not sure which model is "best" for me. My budget is $400-600.

I could be happy with the mex teles: good bargain, decent reviews. However, my experience with them at local shops is I find the fret edges a little too prominent and a therefore a bit annoying. Remember, I don't really play guitar (yet) but I don't want an instrument that doesn't feel right in my hands either. I've also considered the Nashville series and the Blackout model. They cost a little more but you get a 3rd pickup with a 5-way control switch which I assume is a great addition to the standard tele.

Please help me make a decision. Is my experience with the standard tele frets a common experience, and if so, is it a problem for those of you who own one. I'd like to hear that the fret issue is not a problem because the standard tele seems to be a fantastic value and I'd be happy to spend only $400. On the other hand, for an extra $100 I could get that fantastic looking Blackout with 3 pups or for $200 extra, a Nashville tele.

Thanks for your time

• Members

I am a bass player too, and when I started playing gitar, I went for a Tele too. Happened almost involuntary, just something about them that compliment bass players .

Many years later, I am STILL mainly a bass player, but the TELE is still my favorite electric.

• Members

I am a bass player too, and when I started playing gitar, I went for a Tele too. Happened almost involuntary, just something about them that compliment bass players .

Many years later, I am STILL mainly a bass player, but the TELE is still my favorite electric.

Which tele did you get?

• Members

For around $400 as you know you'll be looking at a Mexican Tele. If you go that route, spend a $75 and get the frets dressed and a setup.

You could try eBay, just be careful of what you buy.