Soul Food

boosh

• Members

Okay people ,I'm a Chef ,speciality : French Cuisine ,European stuff and a little Asian Cooking.

Now teach me and enlighten me.

tell me all about Soulfood ,Cajun ,HillBilly and Deep South Cooking.

I need Dishes and Origins,..Names and the way to prepare them,..

From Gumbo to Beefjerky, From Texas Steaks to Bubba's Shrimp Burgers,...

Booshy

• Replies 98
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

You are casting a pretty wide net. You might want to narrow that down.

It's a big damn country.

soulfood, you are going to need a good smothered chicken recipe:

http://www.suntimes.com/recipes/poultry/30577,smothchix.recipe#

http://www.recipelink.com/cookbooks/2006/0345476212_2.html

cornbread and greens make a meal.

Country cooking might be surprisingly simple and underspiced. Something like this may better fit your restaurant-insider notion of what it should be.

New Orleans is an entirely different thing. Go there. Eat. Learn. That was good advice above.

• Members

I think Paul Prud'homme is widely regarded as New Orleans most respected Cajun chef. Perhaps the other post-ers are right when they say you almost need to go to New Orleans to immerse yourself in the whole "vibe" of the place... Cajun cooking is a curious admixture of French, African, Spanish and Indian sensibilities. Still, his book will get you started. As with every American variant of cooking, there is usually a "high" haute fancy, expensive version, and a "low" "street" "bas" inexpensive version, if you know what I mean.

Also, these two books are SURE to grab you:

http://www.amazon.com/Diners-Drive-ins-Dives-All-American-Recipes/dp/0061724882/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267297137&sr=1-1

http://www.amazon.com/White-Cooking-Jargon-Ernest-Mickler/dp/0898151899

Now here's some very traditional, kinda "rough" Texas cooking:

http://www.amazon.com/Texas-Chuckwagon-Cuisine-Evan-Moore/dp/1892588137/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267297202&sr=1-3