breaking strings

jrspencer

• Members

hey guys, to start off im new here so a little about me: i'm a full time college student studying composition at the college of charleston. ive been playing guitar for 11 years and ive dabbled with other instruments, and im pumped to be on the forum.

anyways here's my problem, i just started playing rhythm in a band so im mostly strumming chords, but i like to play really hard (pbr doesnt help ;)) and im breaking strings literally every day. i've got a prs soapbar II, an ibanez artcore hollowbody, and a seagull entourage series acoustic, and it keeps happening with all three. normally i play .10 titanium coated slinkys on the lectrics and .10 martins on the acoustic. someone recommended that i try reenforced slinkys but i broke the e string after about three hours...

obviously i can bump up to heavier strings but i really dont want to because i like the feel and sound i get from lighter gauge strings. i feel like theres something fundamentally wrong, but i have no clue what it might be, and my budget doesnt allow for 6 packs of strings a week.. any suggestions??

• Members

hey guys, to start off im new here so a little about me: i'm a full time college student studying composition at the college of charleston. ive been playing guitar for 11 years and ive dabbled with other instruments, and im pumped to be on the forum.

anyways here's my problem, i just started playing rhythm in a band so im mostly strumming chords, but
i like to play really hard
(pbr doesnt help
;)
) and im breaking strings literally every day. i've got a prs soapbar II, an ibanez artcore hollowbody, and a seagull entourage series acoustic, and it keeps happening with all three. normally i play .10 titanium coated slinkys on the lectrics and .10 martins on the acoustic. someone recommended that i try reenforced slinkys but i broke the e string after about three hours...