G string won't intonate?

Fenderman1991

• Members

So I realized today that my intonation of my G string is way off, like I can't play any notes past the 12th fret without it sounding terrible. Granted I am a beginner at setting up my own guitars, but I've tried all I can to get this thing in tune and it just won't budge!! Any other way to affect this besides the saddle screw? Because no matter what way I twist that it just won't get intonated... :facepalm::facepalm:

Thank you!

• Members

Well as it were...

I put the new string on and thought I noticed the problem right away...the nut was not filed correctly...the string was in the slot but it was actually not even a slot, it was really just chillin there on the nut. :facepalm:

So I filed that down and its actually in a groove now...but the intonation problem continues...

I think I'll bring it to a pro for a proper set up so I can get this baby playin like it ought to before I go back to school...

• Members
Well as it were...

I put the new string on and thought I noticed the problem right away...the nut was not filed correctly...the string was in the slot but it was actually not even a slot, it was really just chillin there on the nut.
:facepalm:

So I filed that down and its actually in a groove now...but the intonation problem continues...

I think I'll bring it to a pro for a proper set up so I can get this baby playin like it ought to before I go back to school...

What guitar is this? Is this your new Mustang?

• Members

Keep in mind, intonation is not exact on any guitar. Intonation is a compromise.

The nut and frets on most guitars are straight and so the scale length of each string needs to be compensated at the bridge to help it sound more in tune with fretted notes vs open notes.

If the nut is compensated, the bridge may require a different compensation. Or, if the frets are fanned out instead of parallel, the bridge compensation needs will also be different.