Thinking of getting a high end kit

lalapancakes

• Members

Well a kit that is atleast 2k dollars. I inherited a lot of money from my grandma for some reason that I don't understand but I'm extremely thankful for it. She said it was for me to get a new car but I already have a car so I guess now I'm thinking of spending some of it on a new drum kit then investing the rest of it into my mutual fund.

I've been playing for about 8 years now and I've had my PDP CX series maple drum kit for about 6 years now. I'm also definately lacking in symbols.

Here are my cymbols

1 Sabian B8 hi hat

1 Sabian B8 ride

1 Sabian B8 crash (I originally had 2 but one of my completely cracked and is now destroyed)

1 Sabian AA china cymbol

Yeah my cymbols are extremely low end. The only cymbol that I actually think is decent is my china cymbol.

I play my drums for atleast an hour a day everyday. If I have time to play more I play more but now I'm in college so I have more work then I did back in highschool. I'm thinking of getting into a music college and my drum teacher thinks I could get into one. So atleast in my humble opinion I think buying an expensive kit and cymbols is not a waste of money because it is an important part of my life, it isn't just a hobby to me.

But I would like to know your guys opinion. Do you think I should get a kit or wait a little bit longer before I get one?

I mean my kit is okay but honestly I just feel like I'd have way more fun on a high end kit. I remember when I first went drum shopping, I remember playing on a DW kit and I was absolutely amazed at how beautiful the sound of the kit was. I also remember when I first got my kit I thought it was the best thing in the world, now 6 years later I find my kit kind of boring to be honest. Maybe I'm just being a spoiled brat or maybe it really is time for me to get a high end drum kit.

Also do you guys have an suggestions for a good high end drum kit? Or a company that you really do like?