pickup selecters on bass?

Narcosynthesis

• Members

why do i never see these?

i am a guitarist and got a fender jazz bass a few months ago which i am learning on, i bring in/out the bridge pickup quite a bit when playing to make the bass stand out more or less to suit verse/chorus and whatnot, and thought adding a pickup selecter would be easier than rolling the pot back and forth all the time

and playing with a newer s1 fender, i thought about adding a second toggle for series/parrallel switching too

any opinions on this?

David

• Members

the S1 is a series/parallel equiped bass, thats what the swtich does on the volume pot, puts the pickups in series when you click it down. The standard wiring for a Jazz bass is in parallel

as for the pickup selector, i dont really know, all of my basses have either been vol/vol or had a blend knob, i know washburn made basses with a 3 way gibson selector switch in it that controlled the pickups though

• Members

I like to think that on the whole its cause bass players arent satisfied with 3 way choice limits on 2 pup basses. That they prefer being able to get that greater variety that haveing vol & vol or vol & blend allows. Same as why basses are common with active eq, cause give more variety then just passive tone pot. Where as hardly any guitars have active eqs. I think bass players are more inclined to being tone freaks then are guitarists. I'm a tone freak too. LOL.

• Members

Originally posted by Darkstorm

I like to think that on the whole its cause bass players arent satisfied with 3 way choice limits on 2 pup basses. That they prefer being able to get that greater variety that haveing vol & vol or vol & blend allows. Same as why basses are common with active eq, cause give more variety then just passive tone pot. Where as hardly any guitars have active eqs. I think bass players are more inclined to being tone freaks then are guitarists. I'm a tone freak too. LOL.