HDTV Content: My Wife Kicks Butt!

Thunderbroom

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Take a look at the Sony XBR sets. Fabulous picture and very bright.

DLP sets have a good picture but I find they need a dark room for best visibility, that's why I prefer the Sony XBR.

Make sure that your set has a HD tuner built in, this might be more handy than you'd expect. In some areas, you might not be able to get CBS, NBC, ABC or FOX in HD through your cable carrier but you can catch the channels in crystal-clear with an antenna if you have an HD tuner built in (invaluable for football season...)

Try to get a TV that does 1080p for the future.

Just offering some advice, I studied this all when we bought our set last year and it took a while to compile what everything meant.

• Members

For the future you should be looking at 1080p. 1080i will give you about the best picture quality that anything will do currently, but 1080p is theoretically better. I say theoretically because the next generation of media are supposed to be in 1080p, but none of the mainstream stuff is yet. So if you plan on buying a lot of HD-DVDs or Blu-Rays (whichever wins out in the VHS vs. Beta battle of the 21st century) later on you should be looking at sets that do 1080p.

• Members

What's the benefit of multiple HDMI inputs?

I don't have an HDMI-capable DVD player (but it seems they can be had for cheap). Can't I just hook it up this way via HDMI:

DVD Player >> Comcast HD Tuner >> TV Input

I'm not sure I want to drop the extra cash for the 1080p at this point. We'll see what happens when we visit the showroom.

• Members

Originally posted by Thunderbroom

I'm not sure I want to drop the extra cash for the 1080p at this point. We'll see what happens when we visit the showroom.