Mac or PC. for recording..

acmaddox0825

• Members

Mac all the way. I've been a professional computer nerd for 16 years and work with every platform under the sun. Fighting with manufacturers' crappy Windows audio card drivers isn't worth the effort. I use Windows when I have to and OS X the rest of the time.

• Members

oh yeah a pc will run you about 1/2 the cost or better , with about equal results . XP is Rock solid too.
;)
Vista , I'm not sure about .

Depends on which PC you get and which Mac you get. I'd say that Macs all things being equal will be about 1/3 more then a PC BUT you get a very decent software bundle with it too including iTunes, iPhoto, and iMovie. Stuff that'd cost you extra on a PC. OS-X is a BSD bassed system while XP is suppose to be Unix bassed, which is much better then what Windows used to use. I just like the leaness of the Macs, no tower go get in the way. Here's Apple's web site, check out some of the features.

http://www.apple.com/

• Members

Most pros use Mac for music and graphics.
:thu:

First, you'll have to define "graphics", as Mac's are only in certain niche's within "graphics". Mostly, print and design. Things like computer generated special effects are opened up much more with Windows and Linux being more dominant, along with the old industry standard, Irix.

As to the original question, discard what other people use. Take a look at what software is out there and determine what will work for you. Worst case, if you do buy a Mac, you can still run Windows on it so you're not out too much.

My personal preference is PC. In either case, however, you'll have a slew of software options available to you. What the pros use is insignificant unless you're looking for to emulate what they do. Even in those cases, I've heard of some studios dumping their Macs due to lack of use, while others swear that Mac's are the only thing the industry uses.