Advice for a begginer?

flatfacerincone

• Members

Okay, so i'm what you guys would call a 'guitard', and i've wanted to take up bass too for a while now.

Anyway, i finally bit the bullet and bought a decent P-Bass knockoff from a friend of mine; Only problem is, i dont have a rig to play it through. Are the bass plugins for guitarport any good? I already use guitarport for most of my practice anyway, so i figured i might give those a shot. If not, any suggestions for a cheap, decent practice amp?

Also, anyone know of any good lessons sites, ect? I want something begginer-ish and relatively easy, but not total noob stuff like 'parts of a bass' or 'the notes on the E string', ect ect, as i've been playing guitar for a couple years now.

• Members

Be able to spell "beginner"...

When I started off playing bass, I played through a little Fender Silverface Vibrochamp 8" combo at LOW volumes. I couldn't get butt-shakin' bass, and sometimes things sounded thin, but at low volume it was fine. If you have an amp already, try it through that at LOW volume... just be aware of possible damage as the volume goes up.

• Members

What's your budget like for buying a practise amp and do you want new or used?

Hey, mate, this is an AMERICAN forum, and in America the word is "practice", not "practise"!

I started playing bass and guitar last June, and have played pretty much every day since then. Here are my ad hoc tips for getting started:

1. Learn how to use your fingers in addition to a pick. Start off with just one finger (your forefinger) and then when you've got that nailed pretty well (maybe after 3-4 months), add in the middle finger and start learning to alternate between the two.

2. Try to play along with some of your favorite tunes. I started off with acoustic Nirvana songs, and then progressed to early Beatles stuff. It's much easier to play along with songs using the bass than the guitar.