So how long...

bringtherock

• Members

...did it take you geezers to acquire a good, solid amount of gear? It's been about 19 months since the day I laid my hands on a bass guitar, and I've finally put in enough cash money to feel like i'm on solid ground. I've spaced it out, but i've bought three basses, a practice amp, an ampeg head, and most recently an ampeg 410 cab since august of 2005.

At the same time it's felt like decades. It's not like i was rolling in the dough before, and as a broke college kid, i never had enough to drop on the whole package at one time.

Any comments/concerns/questions?

:wave:

• Members

I have 3 basses, 2 heads and 2 cabs. Is that considered a solid amount of gear Whatever the case, I've been cycling through gear for about 5 or 6 years. After you make the initial investments, you can pretty much try exchange by buying and selling and check out pretty much anything you that you want to...providing you have a *very* understanding spouse.

• Members

It only took me a couple of years but it was all used gear (except for cables and picks etc). 2 years ago was my first investment in any brand new gear, prior to that I did a lot of swapping and changing to get better gear, each time only having to add a small amount of cash to the money I'd made selling the previous piece of gear. With older used gear the prices don't really depreciate much if it's in working order.

• Members

First got a bass and a crappy practise amp about eleven years ago or thereabouts. Actually, the bass was crappy too. I was still at school and using their gear mostly, with the loan of the guitarist's Dad's PA for gigs.

Traded up to a slightly less crappy bass a couple of years later, but still no proper amp.

Formed a band last summer and initially used the drummer's old bass amp which he fortnuately had lying around. Finally got myself a respectable bass last year and a proper amp about a month ago.

So no, you haven't taken too long... :)

• Members