OT: The "Where Should I Live" thread (2007 Hurricane Preparedness Version)

Phantasm

• Members

Well, we had our little meeting at work about this hurricane season and what I'll have to do for work in the event of an evacuation of New Orleans.

This got me thinking, in the event that my house would flood again I don't think I'll be coming back!

So half serious, half for fun, where should I move if the waters return to claim my home again? Here are my parameters:

1) I don't like the extreme cold. (Though I did like Minnesota when I visited.)

2) I don't like earthquakes. (And living in California is really expensive.)

3) I work in the Information Technology field. (And so does my wife...)

4) Hopefully there is some sort of music scene wherever I go. (Rock music preferred...)

5) Obviously I'm going to look for an area that my house is very unlikely to flood. (I don't like Ice, and I've been tormented by water, I'll take my chances with fire...)

Any suggestions?

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Las Vegas, NV

That's actually on my list, I just don't know how many tech jobs are there.

I had an offer to interview at UNLV a few years ago and I sometimes wonder if I should have gone out to take a look around.

• Members

How about the Portland or Seattle area?

That's another area I've considered, I have a friend that went there after Katrina and she loves it. She's got a band up and running out there and everything.

• Members

other than the cold portion, Salt Lake City meets all of your qualifications, and has some of the lowest un-employment rates in the country. Quite a few tech jobs to be found here as well.

Can a non-Mormon guy who grew up in Catholic country with long hair make it in Salt Lake? :) Just asking. I have never been there or even seen pictures, I just think about Mormons when I hear about Salt Lake City.

• Members

That's actually on my list, I just don't know how many tech jobs are there.