Opinions: putting together a cheap rig.

mabus013

• Members

Looking for some opinions here. I'm looking for the cream of the low-end bass amps here - 300 bucks max. So far, I'm looking at two options just from what I was seeing on musician's fiend: the Marshall MB30 for two hundred, or the GK 'Brat Pack' half stack for 300.

I've been playing guitar for ten years, and I've always {censored}ed around on bass and often jam with other musicians on bass. I've got an opportunity to go on tour this upcoming summer as a bass player, so I'm going to put together a cheap-o rig. I'm the king at doing this with guitars, and I'm sure I'll have no problems doing so on bass, but I figured I'd see what kind of experience you all might have had with these particular pieces.

I'm looking to get a big, warm rock tone with varying levels of aggression available. Unless something else comes up, likely I'm going to be buying an Epiphone Les Paul Special bass. I might also pick up an SX PJ bass for more traditional tones, but this is the bass I'd like to go forward with - it's almost as if they'd anticipated what I wanted before I even thought about switching instruments - set neck, Fender scale (most Gibson style basses I've found use short scale lengths), good looks, and not too many people play a Les Paul bass. Plus, at 250, it's the best thing rolling as far as I can tell. The reviews have been overwhelmingly positive that I've seen so far, and it shouldn't be hard to upgrade later. EMG makes pickups that drop in, and I'm even thinking of breaking out the router and going with one (maybe two!) of the Dimarzio Model One pickups (originally intended as a replacement for the original style Gibson bass pickups).