Anyone running old tube heads for a bass rig? What cab(s) are you using?

NoirAbattoir

• Members

I just put some money down on an old 120 watt Peavey Butcher head. Since I'm also a guitarist, so I will double dip with this bad boy. It sounds great for a cheapo (I'm getting it for $250), it's basically a Marshall JMP clone from the late 70s.

What cabs are you running your amp through? What would you recommend for me?

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

My Butcher sounds sterile as hell on both bass and guitar compared to my Laney AOR. As for cabs, I run a lot of efficient SWR stuff (4x10, 8x8, 1x18, 4x12...).

Yo.

I've tried a number of Laney AOR amps over the years and none of them come close to the Marshall JMP or this Butcher.

• Moderators

I just put some money down on an old 120 watt Peavey Butcher head. Since I'm also a guitarist, so I will double dip with this bad boy. It sounds great for a cheapo (I'm getting it for $250), it's basically a Marshall JMP clone from the late 70s.

What cabs are you running your amp through? What would you recommend for me?

Depends on the gig, for me. I ususlly use a Sunn 200S for rehearsal. I play that into a POS home made cabinet loaded with a JBL 2032 and another home made with a JBL 2119H 8" for highs. For gigs, I might use that setup if it's a small gig, and close to the rehearsal space, which is out in the coast range. I also have a couple of Sunn Concert PA cabinets from the 60's. Horn drivers are shot, so I rewired them to run the D130's full range. Very nice for small to medium size gigs.

For larger gigs, or when I want to look nice, I'll use my Sunn Model T and Model 410H. Bigger yet, I'll bring along the Model 215. I also have a couple of 200S cabinets, each with two D140 drivers, but I don't take them out much.

I can't recommend anything for you, though. I don't know what you like, how big your gigs are, how loud you need to be, etc.