I want to start a web-based business...

ec437

• Members

...of which the main selling point is a highly functional and interactive website.

I know how I want the site to work and what I want it to do, but I don't know anything about making websites beyond very basic HTML.

What should I do? Pick up some books and read about web coding? Hash out my ideas on paper and go talk to a pro with cash in hand? Partner with a web developer? I know some of you guys do this stuff for a living, give me a professional opinion.

• Members

It really depends on the size of the project. If it's a huge project, you might want to consider partnering with a developer, otherwise you'll be spending big money.

This. If the idea is good, a bad website will sink it. FAST.

I do this for a living, and am ALWAYS getting emails from people trying to tell me how wrong and bad our sites are and we need to fix them and only they can do it.

What they don't know is I am the programmer/developer, so they are telling me I am doing my job wrong. Which is fine, maybe I am. So I check out their sites out of boredom and wow, what utter POS's time and time again. Like seriously... High school students come up with better {censored} as a project for extra credits in their web classes than the garbage these amateurs try to pass off as being cutting edge and going to change my universe.

It's laughable most of the time how bad they look and poorly they function.

• Members

I'm confused... You want to start a business for making highly functional and interactive websites, but you can't make a website... ?

I wasn't going to go there, but the thought crossed my mind.

I guess that he has a new idea for the type of website, but can't make it himself. I understand that, I've been there with hair brained schemes before (not calling this one, you know what I mean).

• Members