slap volume drop?

j powell

• Members

hey all,

first, hi again folks! i haven't been around for years, but i switched jobs and have mroe spare time at work, so i've been lurking...secondly...

i'm in a new band and we have one track where slap is needed. i've never done slap and pop at all before, it's coming along ok. my question is, is it normal for all the bottom end and a lot of volume to drop when one switched mid song to slap from plucking? i feel like my rig is developing anemia. should i get used to pumping the volume when i switch or will time ease this?

• Members

I get the same volume drop. When I play with fingers I tend to really dig in. I've broke more strings than our guitar player. That might be part of it.

I watch others slap and pop, and they seem to do it with a lot more authority, so I'm thinking my technique needs a little work.

I also drop a little volume when I use a pick. Which isn't very often these days. There have been times when I used it a lot.

• Members

Huh. Volume usually goes up for me.

When you're slapping, the "peaks" go up but the "power" goes down. I could draw you graphs of why this happens but it probably won't help anyways.

The answer is compression. I have a dbx 160a in my rack that's set for a 3:1 ratio. The threshold is set so that the compressor is pulling maybe 2 or 3 dB at most when I'm playing "normal fingerstyle". When I dig in, still playing finger style, the compressor pulls 3 or 4 dB off. When I start slapping, it's pulling the peaks down (by as much as 10 dB) and smoothing out the sound. You're just trying to control the peaks, not squash the tone.... so if you hear any pumping or breathing then you've got it set to compress way too much.

• Members

I typically have to turn my bass down when I throw in a slap part.