Anyone switch to bass or share duties with another player?

dman11

• Members

In my endless search for quality musicians(bass players, singers) in my area I've begun to think about switching to bass and/or share bass duties and vocal duties with a guitar player friend of mine who's also been searching for his own band members.We would be a 3 piece.Iplay bass fairly well as does he ,but I'm apprehensive of the thought of getting stuck in bass duties since I'm primarily a guitarist.

Anyone been in this situation?Any helpfull suggestions?we play modern rock

• Members

There's no reason that y'all can't switch off, either set by set, or at least a group of songs at a time - what I'd suggest that you DON'T want to do is be changing instruments between each song. If you're doing original material, why not write songs that aim at each of your strengths as guitarists (or bassists), so that you'll be thinking of each tune from a bass players (or a guitar player's) viewpoint.

• Members

I think its a great idea to switch off like that. While I'm not that versatile myself, I've been fortunate to be in a band that has had three different guitar players/bass players on the opposite side of the stage from me. Our lead singer plays acoustic and learned to play bass to give us more flexibilty and allow our original bass player (who was really a guitarist) to get his ya ya's. We would usually do one full set like that and another half of a set later to finish out the night a little more upbeat. Like I've said we've been lucky that all the bass players we have had were that talented, lets you pull in different directions too.

• Members

Just came back from rehearsal: