Ok, elephant in the room, wtf is going on with HC forums and lag?

Kramerguy

• Members

I've been posting here since 1996. These forums have always been plagued with latency and failed requests. The last few months have been utterly atrocious, especially the last few days. Half the posts I make end up with the circle of death (timeout), and in the end will either never appear or double-post.

I would think it's my browser or internet connection, but this has been pretty consistent through about 8 different jobs, 4 different residences, and no less than 3 different browsers and over a decade of different PC's.

Now sometimes, we get a month or two where the forums respond normally, but that's seriously the exception and not the rule.

I can only assume I'm not the only one, right?

• Members

MySQL database has the {censored}tiest locking engine of any database I've ever worked with. the engine does not scale out well in scenarios requiring lots of inserts/updates.

Also check your trace route. This is the day after the debate and there is a lot of social media chatter going on now. You're probably getting a really crappy route through a congested router. I know Mae-east down in Virginia was always a bottleneck for those on the east trying to route traffic westbound; likely still the case (though I believe that nose has been renamed and upgraded)

From windows cmd line type "tracert acapella.harmony-central.com" to get your route to the server. Acceptable per node latency is

• Members

yeah mae east was fixed years ago. but to regurgitate - this has been a problem on many different networks and fairly consistent. I've seen it mentioned about hc's connection issues in other threads before, but nobody seems to be talking about it directly. It's been really bad the last few days, yet I'm on comcast business class clocking 50mbps consistently, HC is the ONLY site that I experience any timeouts and extreme lag on.

• Members

Quote Originally Posted by Kramerguy