Starting a duo... any advice?

Yer Blues

• Members

I've been playing in cover bands for 12 years or so... always as a sideman.  I had some input into setlist, would sing maybe 4-5 songs a night, etc, etc.  Recently, a great musician (vocals, guitarist, mandolin, keys, you name it!) moved in next door to my buddy and we are going to try to put together a duo.  He has never been a frontman either.   I'm not sure what to expect.  One venue has already given us the "audition" for us one night to get a gig shtick.  This may be the norm around here because there are a ton of musicians looking to play and the main reason the last cover band I was playing with stopped in its tracks was because the band leader couldn't get the $ he wanted from venues.

Anyways, moving forward I'm trying to piece together what needs to be done to get this thing off the ground.  We're working on the setlist and it shouldn't be an issue other than memorizing the lyrics.  I guess I could look into a getting some sort of tablet with Onsong on it?  Is that pretty much the norm for acoustic acts these days?

As far as PA, I have a Carvin C1644p (16 channels, powered) and a pair of JBL PRX 512 (also powered).  16 channels is probably overkill, but the Carvin has XLR balanced outputs so it will work.  I also have a single JBL PRX718 sub, but for $100 (or less) I'm not going to drag it out.  I've been wanting to replace the Carvin and pick up some monitors, but haven't had areason.. this might provide one. 

I have two acoustics -- Guild JF 30 and a cheap Alvarez 12 string.  Neither of which has a pickup.  So, I need to either pick up an electric/acoustic or some type of pickup.  I do have one of those Woody pickups by Seymour Duncan, but it sucks.... so I see a new guitar in my future.