Church Vocals - is this guy nuts?

• Members

So, recently I was talking to the new sound guy at church, and he mentioned that as soon as he could get approval he was going to replace all of the church microphones. This consists of four wireless Shure Beta 87a microphones and four or five wired Beta 87a's. He wants to replace them all with SM-58's.

Am I wrong, or is this crazy? He was talking about how he just doesn't think that the 87 is suited to the rooms (the main sanctuary, or the small room by the gym where our praise and worship group plays) and that a 58 would do better. I pointed out that the 58 was cardioid while the 87 was supercardioid, and with the monitors toward the edges (the sides, I mean) of the stage in both rooms the 87 should provide better gain before feedback.

He gave me kind of a nasty look and walked off.

Am I totally off-base on this? I have two Beta 87a mics myself and love them - they're my favorite vocal mic, but I'm by no means an expert. But it seems like if nothing else he should get one or two of the 58s and try them out before replacing everything.

I don't have a 58 right now, but I brought some 57s with me the last time we played there and asked if he wanted to try them on the vocals, since he didn't like the 87s, and he just kind of gave me a blank stare. I know they aren't the same, but the 57 is similar to the 58 and has the same polar pattern, so I thought it would at least give an idea of what we could expect with a 58.

Anyway, I'm tempted to just tell the music director at church that if he DOES get rid of the mics, I want them. I'd love to have those four wireless ones.

I just thought I'd ask y'all if I'm way off base in thinking replacing 87s with 58s is a bad idea when the 87s have been working very well for years. :) Thanks!

• Members

"I just thought I'd ask y'all if I'm way off base in thinking replacing 87s with 58s is a bad idea when the 87s have been working very well for years. "